Australia’s critically endangered animal species

Australia has 96 critically endangered animal species, as listed by the IUCN. Over the coming months, we will be publishing a profile of each of them, looking at the threats to their survival, what’s being done to protect them, and what more needs to be done.

“Critically endangered” is the highest threat level that can be assigned to a wild species (lower levels are “endangered” and “vulnerable”). These species are either facing an extremely high risk of extinction, or have numbers which decreased (or will) by 80% within three generations. Some of these species may already be extinct.

Where no common name exists, only the Latin name is given.

via Australia’s critically endangered animal species.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s